Connect with us


Zohra calls off two-day cricket under NPL

Zohra Sports Management (ZSM) has cancelled the two-day cricket under the Ncell Premier League for this year with the event management group making few changes in what is expected as a breakthrough program in Nepali cricket. “The two-day format, scheduled to take place in Dhangadhi on April 10, is called off in mutual understanding with the captains of the six franchises due to extreme weather conditions, The city will now host 50-over cricket,” said ZSM issuing a press release. NPL’s commencement was postponed for May 14 due to national team’s participation in the ACC Premier League that was preceded by the cricketer’s boycotting of national and international events. After national team cricketers showed serious concern over playing a longer version cricket in Dhangadhi where temperature could rise up to 45 degree in May, ZSM had to call off the two-day cricket. ZSM is preparing to hold the 50-over tournament in two shifts with the first innings set for an early morning start, according to a source close to the national team. After naming Dhangadhi as the hosts for one-day, ZSM has also decided to cancel Rajbiraj and Biratnagar as 50-over venues. While Dhangadhi were originally named as two-day hosts, Biratnagar and Rajbiraj were given 50-over hosting with Kathmandu paying hosts to Twenty20 cricket. “Rajbiraj and Biratnagar have been cancelled as NPL venues because they don’t have proper drainage facilities or ground covers for wet conditions to counter the unpredictable rain at the end of May,” the release read. The 50-over cricket will be played from May 14-24 at the Fapla cricket grounds in Dhangadhi and Kanchanpur cricket grounds. Tribhuvan University grounds will host all the matches of the Twenty20 tournament from June 4-14. ZSM said the two-day cricket will be included from next year. Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) is organising the NPL which is participated in by six franchises of corporate houses with national team members leading each team. ZSM are event manager of the event. Tej, owned by Panchakanya Group and captained by Sharad Vesawkar, Colors X Factors, owned by Teletalk Pvt Ltd and skippered by Gyanendra Malla, Vishal Group Warriors, owned by Visha Group and skipper by national team captain Paras Khadka, Kantipur Gurkhas, owned by Kantipur Publications with Basanta Regmi as skipper, Jagdamba Giants, owned by Shanker Group and captained by Shakti Gauchan and Sagarmatha Legends, owned by Ghorahi Cement and led by Binod Bhandari are the six franchises involved in the NPL.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!