Connect with us


Warriors claim Mayor Cup SPL title with slim win

Bajaj Khadak Warriors claimed the title of the Mayor Cup Saptari Premier League on Saturday. In a nail-biting contest Warriors defeated Rupani Riders by one run at the Raj Stadium.

Warriors made 146-6 from 20 overs after they elected to bat first. Riders in reply fell just two runs short off the finishing line to make 145-9.

Niraj Mukhiya scored a 31-ball 52 for Riders hitting four sixes and three boundaries. Sunil Dhamala scored 23, Amit Yadav scored 19 and skipper Kushal Bhurtel made 15.

Left arm spinner Anil Kharel wrapped up his consistent performance for Warriors picking up three wickets in the final along with Gomananda Amatya. Anil returned the match-winning figures of 3-10 from four overs that included a maiden.

Earlier, Niraj Yadav top scored for Warriors with a 50-ball 51 hitting four boundaries and a six. The opener shared 58 runs for the first wicket with Anil Kumar Sah who contributed 29 runs to the total and skipper Bibek Yadav made 22. Anil Yadav took three wickets for Riders.

Along with the title, Warriors pocketed a cash purse of Rs 300,000 and Riders got Rs 150,000.

Tournament’s leading run scorer Anil was adjudged the player-of-the-series. He got Rs 25,000. Anil had scored two centuries and a half century to make 334 runs from five matches.

Bishal Susling, who took nine wickets from four matches, was named the best bowler. Anil also took the best batsman honour. The duo got Rs 15,000 for their feats.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!