Connect with us


U-19 skipper Dipendra a surprise in the list of marquees

Dipendra Singh Airee was among the surprise list of marquees as EPL Pvt Ltd on Friday unveiled the marquee players, teams and owners of the Everest Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament.

Nominated for the Youth Player of the Year and People’s Choice Award in the Pulsar Sports Award on the back of his performance in the last one year, Dipendra has managed to find a place as a star player in what is expected to Nepal’s biggest cricket competition till date.

The city-based six-team franchise competition offers a cash purse of Rs 2.1 million to the champions and auction for the players under three different categories. The marquee players will have a base price of Rs 200,000 and it depends on the negotiation how much they can earn from the owners.

Dipendra went to Chitwan Tigers owned by Kishore Bhattarai. National team skipper Paras Khadka is the marquee player for Biratnagar Warriors owned by Vishal Agrawal and Gyanendra Malla will take to the field as marquee for Lalitpur Patriots.

National team fast bowler Sompal Kami has been sold to Kathmandu Kings XI with Rohit Gupta as its owner and Sharad Vesawkar will be playing for Bhairahawa Gladiators – owned by Aditya Shanghai. National team veteran left arm spinner Shakti Gauchan was roped in for Pokhara Rhinos.

The auction for the tournament will be held after the third week of October under ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’ categories. Besides the marquee players and foreign recruits, other players will be kept on auction. The base price for the auction is yet to be disclosed.

EPL was previously played as Twenty20 competition between the corporate franchise and is coming in as a city-based franchise in its second edition.

TEAMS (CITIES)                                                  MARQUEE PLAYERS                                                  OWNERS

Kathmandu Kings Eleven                                    Sompal Kami                                                            Rohit Gupta

Lalitpur Patriots                                                   Gyanendra Malla                                                     Kishore Maharjan

Biratnagar Warriors                                             Paras Khadka                                                           Vishal Agrawal

Bhairahwa Legends                                            Sharad Vesawakar                                                   Aditya Shanghai

Pokhara Rhinos                                                   Shakti Gauchan                                                        Shahil Agarwal

Chitwan Tigers                                                    Dipendra Airee                                                         Kishore Bhattarai

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!