Connect with us


TAC target double delight in debut

New entrants Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) will be looking to establish themselves in domestic scene when the Pepsi Standard Chartered One Day National Cricket Tournament begins from April 9.


TAC had ended Nepal APF Club hegemony in domestic cricket when they hammered the established departmental side in the National Twenty20 tournament last year in what was their debut tournament.


The Army men will once again be looking to carry on the winning momentum in presence of weakened regional teams with star players sealing their place in the departmental sides.


TAC squad has been bolstered by national team stars Sagar Pun, Anil Mandal, Naresh Budhayer, Binod Bhandari and Avinash Karn along with other notable players.


APF will be led by national team skipper Paras Khadka and with a haul of experience available in Shakti Gauchan, Amrit Bhattarai, Basanta Regmi, Subash Khakurel, Paresh Lohani, Sanjam Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar and Pradeep Airee, the defending champions are always going to be the tagged favorites.


APF and TAC have been drawn in Group ‘A’ alongside Region No 2 (Birgunj), Region No 6 (Baitadi) and Region No 8 (Pokhara). All the league matches of the group will be held in Pokhara.


With Birgunj having the likes of experienced Jitendra Mukhiya, Ram Naresh Giri, Amit Shrestha, Aarif Sheikh, there could be a three-way battle in the pool. Region No 4 (Bhairahawa), Region No 7 (Janakpur), Region No 1 (Biratnagar), Region No 5 (Nepalgunj), Region No 9 (Kanchanpur) and Region No 3 (Kathmandu) are in Group ‘B’.


Top two teams from each pool will reach the semi-finals. Tribhuvan University Stadium and Pulchowk Engineering College grounds will host the Group ‘B’ league stage games along with the semi-finals.


The final will be held at the TU Stadium.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!