Connect with us


Sushil, Lalit in final squad as Karan returns for Hong Kong clash

Sushil Kandel had replaced country’s ace spinner Shakti Gauchan in the closed-camp after the veteran left arm bowler pulled out from the ICC World Cricket League Championship sixth round matches against Hong Kong due to piles.

Sushil was in the spotlight ever since he made his debut in the national team with the 2015 ACC U-19 Premier where he managed to break Shakti’s records of bowling maximum number of dots (55) in an innings during the match against Saudi Arabia.

Since that tournament in Malaysia, Sushil has been an asset for his teams in domestic and international tournaments. Bowling miserly figures and picking up wickets at will. He was instrumental in Panchakanya Tez’s victory in the Everest Premier League and was named the best player of the Dhangadhi Premier League with 13 wickets.

A man who was emulating Shakti has now found a place for himself in the national squad in place of Shakti. With young Sandeep Lamichhane already cementing a place in the national team, gradually, Nepal’s worry of finding replacements for the spinners who have been carrying the burden of the entire country in international tournaments.

Sushil might have to wait for his debut when Nepal begins the WCLC match against Hong Kong on October 13, but he has proved himself as a cricketer who will shape as a bowler with time.

In a 14-member final squad that was announced Monday, Lalit Singh Bhandari, the 2013 ACC U-19 Asia Cup player, has also found a place in the national team but the return of hard hitting fast bowling allrounder Karan KC back in the team.

Karan was out of the game since he underwent appendicitis operation during Nepal’s WCLC home matches against Kenya and considering the small grounds in Hong Kong, the battled between the two might get one-sided.

Emerging all rounder Kushal Bhurtel, veteran allrounder Mehboob Alam, Naresh Budhayer and Jitendra Mukhiya have been kept as reserves, while leg spinner Sandeep and U-19 skipper Dipendra Singh Airee were retained.

Skipper Paras Khadka will lead the Nepali team that also includes Gyanendra Malla (vice-captain), Sharad Vesawkar, Basanta Regmi, Sagar Pun, Sompal Kami, Binod Bhandari, Sushan Bhari Shrestha and Aarif Sheikh.

Nepali team is currently in Chennai for their preparation camp ahead of the Hong Kong matches. During the camp, they will play four friendly matches and begin with the game against Didigul Dragons, a Tamil Nadu Premier League team on Tuesday.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!