Connect with us


Solid APF claim PM Cup Women’s Twenty20 title

Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club avenged their last year’s defeat in the most appropriate way with a seven-wicket drubbing of Province 1 to claim the Prime Minister Cup Women’s National Twenty20 Cricket Tournament title on Sunday.

Electing to field first at the Fapla Cricket Ground in Dhangadhi, APF restricted national team skipper Rubina Chhetri-led Province 1 to 67-6 in 20 overs. Opener Jyoti Pandey then did the rest as APF reached 68-3 with 34 balls to spare.

It was a sweet revenge for APF who were beaten by Province 1 in the final of the previous edition in Dang. At a time when APF dominance in domestic women’s cricket was thought to have ended, they hit back with Mayor Cup title the same year but PM Cup revenge has solidified their position further.

Rubina came up with an allround show after she picked up three wickets reducing APF to 36-3 in 7.2 overs. However, Jyoti remained firm and together with Mamta Chaudhary set sail the ship with a 33-run fourth wicket stand.

Jyoti remained unbeaten on a 39-ball 36 with six boundaries, while Mamta made 19 off 23 with two hits to the fence. Rubina, who walked away with player of the series award for her 157 runs and eight wickets, returned the figures of 3-10 from four overs that included one maiden.

Earlier, Province 1 total was built around Rubina as the opener made 34 from 46 deliveries. APF bowlers made sure Province 1 batswomen don’t play freely. Apsari Begam was their next best scorer with a sluggish 34-ball 11. Player of the final Sita Rana Magar took 3-12 from four overs for APF, while Rekha Rawal snared 2-11 from her four.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!