Connect with us


Second consecutive victory for Bhairahawa

Region No. 4 Bhairahawa registered their second consecutive victory defeating Region No. 6 Baitadi by eight wickets in the Women’s National Cricket Tournament at TU cricket Grounds on Saturday. In another match, Nepalgunj recovered from their eight wicket loss against Bhairahawa on Friday crushing Region No. 2 Birgunj by 52 runs. 

Bhairahawa restricted Baitadi to 86-3 in 20 overs before reaching the target in just nine overs. Opener Nitu Bhandari played a 27-ball cameo of 36 runs including six boundaries to lead Bhairahawa’s run chase. Bhandari shared 43-run third wicket partnership with Indu Barma. Sunita Lohar and Hema Air picked up a wicket each for Baitadi reducing Bhairahawa to 43-2 before Bhandari came to the rescue.  Barma hit four boundaries in her 18 off 11. Earlier, Baitadi had a rocky start losing openers Kabita Kuwas (one) and Suman Gupta (eight) to Prabina Khadka. Manju Bokati held the innings with a resilient 42-ball 26 and along with Samjhana Khadka put on a 43-run stand for the third wicket. Manisha Neupane broke the partnership running Bokati out in the last over of the innings. Khadka made 26 not out from 22 deliveries with one boundary.  In the next match of the day, Nepalgunj posted 122-5 after electing to bat first. Rekha BC then returned to pick up four wickets restricting Birgunj to 70-9. With two back-to-back defeats Birgunj have crashed out of the tournament. Rabina Ghimire (19) and opener Divya Shrivastav (13) were the only Birgunj batswomen to make runs in double figures.  Openers Gita Gossai and Sanju Chaudhary gave good start to Nepalgunj with a 36-run stand for the first wicket. Gossai stroked 33 from 42 with four boundaries, while Chaudahry made 20 of 18 with two hits to the fence. No. 3 batswoman Saya Basnet (12) and Kamala BC (19) propeled Nepalgunj total to 122. Puspha Aryal and Sita Shrestha shared two wickets each for Birgunj.  Region No 7 Janakpur will take on Region No. 1 Biratnagar and Region No. 3 Kathmandu will play Pokhara at the TU groundon Sunday. Bhairahawa will play with Region No. 9 Kanchanpur and Nepalgunj will face Baitadi at the Pulchowk Engineering ground on the same day.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!