Connect with us


Scotland lifts ICC WC Qualifiers

Scotland has won the title of ICC World Cup Qualifiers by 41 runs against UAE held at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln on Friday. Now Scotland will join hosts Australia, New Zealand and England in Group A of ICC World Cup to be held next year.


Scotland who batted first winning the toss were once 37 for three in 7 overs were saved by their captain Preston Mommsen who scored a brilliant century coming down to bat at number four. Scotland made 285 runs in their 50 overs losing five wickets.


Mommsen who made not out 139 runs in 149 balls with twelve fours and a six was awarded as Man of the match and also Man of the series award.


Apart from captain Mommsen, Richie Berrington also made 63 runs from 53 balls.


UAE chasing the target of 286 runs were able to make just 244 runs with the loss of nine wickets in their fifty overs. Wicket keeper batsman Swapnil Patil’s not out 99 runs went in vain as UAE lost the match by 41 runs.


With the loss UAE are in Group B of World Cup.


Nepal finished 9th in the tournament while Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea got ODI status for next four years. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in International

error: Content is protected !!