Connect with us


Rupandehi prove their might lifting Baliyo Nepal Cup

Rupandehi XI claimed the title of the Baliyo Nepal Cup with a convincing 65-run victory over Dang XI on Saturday.

At the Siddhartha Stadium in Bhairahawa, Rupandehi rode on a solid batting performance from their top and middle order to score 154-3 in 20 overs before bowling out Dang for just 89 with 16 balls to spare.

Rupandehi came into the match amassing 190 in their semi-final against Palpa XI. They continued their performance with the bat in the final despite losing opener Amar Mishra (three) cheaply and Santosh Saud (25) made some runs before leaving his side at 41-2.

Vishal Bhushal and Ashish Rokka went on to share 72 runs for the third wicket as Rupandehi built on the solid partnership to compile a winning total. Ashish top scored with a 32-ball 44 with two sixes and a four, while Vishal’s 42-ball 41 included five hits to the fence.

Prakash Giri gave a perfect finishing clubbing three sixes in his 11-ball 21 not out.

Dang struggled against a strong Rupandehi bowling attack as only Manoj Pun managed to put some fight with a 33-ball 39. He hit five boundaries.

Opener Prabhakar Kunwar (16) and Rohit Dangi (10) were other batsmen to make runs in double figures.

Santosh Yadav took 3-12 from three overs for Rupandehi. Sumit Parajuli and Amar also had two scalp apiece.

Rupandehi duo Santosh (bowler) and Prakash (batsman) were the individual winners, while Aashish Oli of Dang was the man-of-the-series.

The tournament, played only in Lumbini Province, was organised by Baliyo Nepal Nutrition Initiative and managed by Queens Event Management Pvt Ltd. It is also planned to get into other provinces of the country in coming years.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!