Connect with us


Rubina retains women’s team captaincy

Influential athlete Rubina Chhetri has retained the captaincy as the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Wednesday announced the 15-member squad for the 17th Asian Games cricket.

 After taking over the captaincy from Neera Rajopadhyaya for the 2012 ACC Women’s Twenty20 Asia Cup in Guagzhou, China, Rubina has been leading the national team in every other outing. Mamta Thapa has been named Rubina’s deputy for the Asian Games. 


Sarita Magar, Sita Rana Magar, Karuna Bhandari, Shobha Ale, Rekha Rawala, Indu Verma, Kajal Shrestha, Nary Thapa Magar, Sonu Khadka, Saraswoti Chaudhary, Mamta Kumari Chaudhary, Anjali Chand and Trishna Singh are the other members in the team. 


Kabita Gautam, Binu Budha Magar, Jyoti Pandey and Roshani Bohora were named reserves. Navin Singh is the team coach. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand, China, Nepal, South Korea, Japan, Malaysia and Hong Kong will compete in the women’s event.


The Asian Games cricket will see no men’s team from Asian Test playing giants India.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!