Connect with us


Rookies Karan, Rajesh in Division-II prelim squad

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Friday announced an 18-member preliminary squad for the upcoming ICC World Cricket League Division-II to be held in Namibia from January 17-24.


Rookies Karan KC, Rajesh Pulami Magar, Ramanaresh Giri along with experienced Rahul Kumar BK has been drafted in for the first 18 with Pradeep Airee once again losing his place for an all-important tournament for Nepal.


The squad also misses injury-recovered Prithu Baskota who has been back in the ground but since he had no ground to prove his fitness after the CAN called off this year’s senior national tournament, the former U-19 skipper had to bear the most.


Sharad Vesawkar, who have been suffering from piles and recently completed surgery, has also been named along with talented all rounder Aarif Sheikh.


Other members in the team include Paras Khadka, Gyanendra Malla, Sagar Pun, Shakti Gauchan, Meheboob Alam, Binod Bhandari, Amrit Bhattarai, Basanta Regmi, Subash Khakurel, Naresh Budayair, Som Pal Kami and Bhuwan Karki.


The squad will now cut down to final 14 before Nepal leave for their 10-day preparation tour of South Africa from January 3-13. The closed-camp in Kathmandu will begin from December 15.


Nepal will meet the Netherlands, Namibia, Kenya, Canada and Uganda in the Division-II which will send the top two teams in the ICC World Cricket League Championship and ICC Inter-continental Cup.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!