Connect with us

IPL 2020

Purple Cap holders of each Indian Premier League edition

Pakistani left arm medium pacer Sohail Tanveer had lit up the first edition of the Indian Premier League picking up six wickets in a single match (against Chennai Super Kings). The bowler then ended up as the highest wicket taker, taking the Purple Cap in the only edition of the tournament he featured in.

Unlike the batting dominance, only two bowlers have managed to take Purple Cap twice in the 12 editions. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo have achieved the feat for their respective franchise and the remaining eight editions have been different bowlers’ game.

Here is the list of Purple Cap winners of each edition of the Indian Premier League.

2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings17266.6916.572
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab14248.0018.663
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad14267.0514.191
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad17237.4221.301
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings17268.1416.38
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings16238.3919.651
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings18327.9515.831
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils16257.1918.121
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians16285.9513.391
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers16217.2920.42
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers16236.9818.131
2008Sohail TanveerRajasthan Royals11226.4612.0911
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in IPL 2020