Connect with us


Province 1 sign off with victory, APF finish league campaign unbeaten

Prime Minister Cup champions Province 1 signed off from the Lalitpur Mayor Women’s Championship with victory, while Nepal APF Club finished their league campaign on Thursday.

Province 1, who collapsed to a 40-run defeat to Sudur Paschim that all but confirmed their early exit from the tournament, defeated Lalitpur Mayor’s XI by 14 runs on the back of a solid half century from Roma Thapa.

Roma struck a 57-ball 66 as Province 1 made 128-2 in 20 overs. Skipper Rubina Chhetri then picked up three wickets as Lalitpur Mayor finished at 114-7. Player-of-the-match Rubina returned the figures of 3-18 from four overs.

Lalitpur were 61-4 before Suman Khatiwada and Ashmina Karmacharya (18) added 42 runs to bring them back into the match. But Shabnam Rai removed Suman and Rubina took two wickets to halt Lalitpur March. Suman made a run-a-ball 25 with three fours.

Opener Anuradha Chauhdary also made 18 runs for Lalitpur.

Earlier, Rubina did the majority of scoring in her 33-run stand with Roma after Province 1 lost Kajal Shrestha (eight) early in the game. Rubina scored a 24-ball 21 with two fours and a six.

Roma then shared 75-run unbroken partnership for the third wicket with Apsari Begam. Roma hit 10 fours in her innings. Apsari chipped in 29-ball 26 with two fours.

Later in the day, Mamta Chaudhary contributed 47 runs in APF’s 40-run victory over Lumbini Province. APF were already through to the final ahead of the dead rubber.

APF will go into the final with a run of four consecutive victories.

Batting first, APF made tournament’s second high 142-6 in 20 overs before restricting Lumbini to 102-2. Laxmi Chaudhary top scored with a 37-ball 35 hitting five boundaries.

Nary Thapa posted her tournament-high 19-ball 27 with four hits to the fence.

APF shuffled their batting order once again and this time it was No 3 Mamta who stepped up sharing 58 runs for the second wicket. Mamta’s 48-ball innings included four boundaries and a six.

Skipper Sita Rana Magar made some quick scoring hitting five boundaries in an 18-ball 28. Rajmai Airee made 30-ball 23 with two fours.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!