Connect with us


PM Cup: Rubina half century lifts Province 1; Sudur Paschim win

Province 1 and Sudur Paschim won their respective Group B matches of the Prime Minister Cup Women’s National Twenty20 cricket tournament on Tuesday with comprehensive victories.

National team skipper Rubina Chhetri struck a half century as Province 1 beat Bagmati by 46 runs. In the first match of the day, Sudur Paschim overcame Gandaki Province by 59 runs.

Rubina, also the Province 1 captain, made the difference as she steered her team to a modest 106-5 in 20 overs. Nima Tamang and Apasri Begam then shared five wickets between them as Bagmati were skittled out for just 60 runs in 16.4 overs. Only Kanchan Shrestha (13) and Suman Khatiwada (12) managed to make runs in double figures for Bagmati.

Province 1 bowled a tight line to just conced six extras, the fewest a team has conceded so far in the tournament. A 17-run partnership between Kanchan and Helisha Gurung (eight) was the only bright spot for Bagmati in the match.

Earlier, after the first ball dismissal of another national team member Kajal Shrestha, Rubina consolidated the Province 1 innings with a 46-run partnership with Roma Thapa (four) and 36 runs for the third wicket with Latika Rajbanshi (four).

She brought tournament’s third half century scoring a run-a-ball 55 that included six hits to the fence. Province 1 were 85-5 before Apsari pushed the team beyond triple figures making a 13-ball 16. She hit a six, the only so far in the tournament. Aarati Bidari took two wickets for Bagmati.

After Sita Rana Magar and Anuradha Chaudhary, Rubina Chhetri brought tournament’s third half century.

Sudur Paschim were aided by 32 extra runs from Gandaki while reaching 107 all out in 19.3 overs. An experienced looking Sudur Paschim bowling attack restricted Gandaki to 48-6. Sunita Lohar took two wickets for them. None of the Gandaki batswomen made runs in double figures.

Player of the match Rewati Dhami had top scored for Sudur Paschim with a 36-ball 27 that included two hits to the fence. Skipper Bindu Rawal (13) was their next best scorer. Shristi Poudel and Alisha Lamichhane took three wickets each for Gandaki.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!