Connect with us


No Dassanayake for Asian Games

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Tuesday announced a 19-member preliminary men’s national team squad for the 17th Asian Games with Coach Pubudu Dassanayake not in his job.


CAN had already sent the list for both the men’s and women’s teams after Dassanayake after his departure to Canada following the decision from the cricket governing body on not renewing his contract.


The government did intervene after the CAN’s decision by handing Dassanayake a one-year extension but by then the list was already processed for accreditation. Arun Aryal, who last took over the national team during the 2005 Three-day tournament in Singapore against the hosts, has been given the role of the coach.


The preliminary squad consists of Paras Khadka, Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Vesawkar, Subash Khakurel, Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Binod Bhandari, Pradeep Airee, Sagar Pun, Mehboob Alam, Som Pal Kami, Naresh Budhayer, Rahul Kumar Bk, Jitendra Mukhiya, Bhuwan Karki, Manjeet Shrestha, Raj Kumar Pradhan, Puspa Thapa and Ram Naresh Giri.


Srinivas Rana is the Manager in the team that missed Anil Mandal, Mahesh Chhetri and Avinash Karn and rising all-rounder Aarif Sheikh. Anil and Avinash both are sustaining injuries, while Mahesh and Aarif have been primed for ODI format more than the Twenty20 format in Asian Games.


The women’s preliminary squad includes Rubina Chhetri, Mamta Thapa, Sarita Magar, Sita Rana Magar, Karuna Bhandari, Sobha Ale, Rekha Rawal, Kabita Gautam, Kajal Shrestha, Roshani Bohora, Sonu Khadka, Anjali Chand, Mamta Chaudhary, Jyoti Pandey, Trishna Singh, Saraswoti Chaudahry, Nary Thapa, Indu Verma and Binu Budha Magar.


Navin Singh is the coach for the women’s team and Sanjay Raj Singh is the team manager.


After Test playing giants India and Pakistan decided not to send their men’s team, the event will be participated in by Sri Lanka, defending champions Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Maldives, Kuwait, Hong Kong, China, South Korea and Nepal.


The women’s tournament includes Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, South Korea, Thailand, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia and Nepal.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!