Connect with us


Nepali cricketers finally get paid their 2019 pay cheque

Nepali national team cricketers, who have been unpaid for the last 20 months, have been paid their monthly salary of 2019.

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) said it deposited the salary of those players in the central contract after receiving fund from the International Cricket Council (ICC). The supreme body of world cricket is providing a controlled funding to Nepali cricket administrators as the CAN’s suspension is yet to be completely lifted.

Nepali cricketers’ salary is managed from the fund provided by the ICC. A total of 22 players have been given central contract and divided into three grades according to their performance for the national team. The cricketers, however, are yet to receive the salary of the first eight months of 2020.

In absence of CAN, the players had not even received their salary for two years – 2017 and 2018 – until they got it in 2019.

Skipper Gyanendra Malla, vice-captain Dipendra Singh Airee, former captain Paras Khadka, Binod Bhandari, Karan KC, Sharad Vesawkar, Sandeep Lamichhane and Sompal Kami are Grade A cricketers and will receive Rs 45,000 per month from 2019.

The players are given an incement of Rs 10,000 following a recommendation from CAN to the ICC. Abinash Bohora, Aarif Sheikh, Basant Regmi, Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi, Pawan Sarraf, Rohit Kumar Paudel, Sandeep Jora and Sushan Bhari Shrestha fall in Grade B. They will get Rs 35,000.

Ishan Pandey, Kushal Bhurtel, Kushal Malla, Pradeep Airee, Raju Rijal and Rashid Khan are in Grade C. They will get Rs 25,000. Few days back, CAN also said that it will start processing in giving central contracts to the national women’s team cricketers.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!