Connect with us


Nepal to begin Div-III against old foes US

Old foes United States of America will be the first hurdle to get over when Nepal begin their ICC World Cricket League Division-III campaign in Bermuda starting from April 28 to May 5. 

According to the fixtures released in the official website of the Bermuda Cricket Board, Nepal will meet Uganada a day later after playing against the USA on April 28. Along with Bermuda, Nepal and the USA, Oman, Italy and Uganda are the other three teams in the tournament that will send two nations into the 2014 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers (CWCQ) to be held in New Zealand. 

Nepal had defeated the USA twice on their way to winning the Division-IV title in Malaysia last year. The Division-IV title was Nepal’s first I foreign soil – the latest coming at the UAE in the ACC Trophy Elite. After a rest day, Nepal are up against hosts Bermuda. Bermuda – an island nation in the south east coast of the US, have already appeared in one World Cup – the 2007 showpiece held in the West Indies.

In their next match, Nepal will meet Oman on May 2 before rounding up league campaign with a match against Italy on May 4. Currently in a good run of form, Nepal can fancy their chances to play in the 2015 World Cup to be held jointly in Australia and New Zealand if the team ends up reaching at least the final after a round robin league. The final appearance in Bermuda will send Nepal into the 10-team ICC CWCQ and give a place in the ICC World Cricket League Division-II.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!