Connect with us


Nepal qualify for 2016 ICC U-19 World Cup

Khanal sealed the ICC U-19 World Cup spot with a six as Nepal downed
Ireland by three wickets in the final of the Qualifiers at the
Oval in Kuala Lumpur on Thursday.

The victory takes Nepal to
their seventh appearance out of 10 U-19
World Cups with the next edition
to be hosted by Bangladesh in 2016. Nepal will join 10 Test playing
nations along with Associates Afghanistan, Fiji, Namibia, Scotland and

earlier World Cup qualification came in 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008 and
2012. Prithu Baskota had led Nepal to 2012 World Cup
that was held in

In the
match, Nepal bundled out the Irish for 184 — the same total they had
restricted their opponents to in the last league game held on
— in 47.4 overs. Nepal survived some nervy moments before Khanal held
on to hammer Aaron Gillespie for a six in the second ball of the 47th

Nepal had
hammered Ireland by eight wickets where a 170-run record stand between
Sandeep Sunar and Sunil Dhamala had done the job.
But with World Cup
spot at the stake, the Irish were not giving in so easily as they had
Sandeep out in the second over for a golden duck. Sunil and Yogendra
Karki (11) built on a 35-run partnership for the second wicket before
the latter departed.

shared another 47 runs for the third wicket with skipper Raju Rijal
before losing his wicket for 47 at 82-3 in 21.5 overs. Sunil hit
boundaries in 47 balls. Raju was next to go for an invaluable 35 that
included three boundaries in 56 balls.

Rajbir Singh made a 46-ball
16 in his boundaryless innings. Aarif
Sheikh also contributed 21 off 36
hiting three boundaries and a crucial partnership came after his

and Dipendra Airee shared 28 runs for the seventh wicket taking the game
away from Ireland. Airee hit three fours in his 31-ball 26
and when he
was dismissed Nepal were just eight runs away from victory. Saurav did
the rest with big six to put Nepal in the World Cup.

Saurav chipped in a 13-ball
16 that also included one boundary. Rory
Anders and Gillespie picked up
two wickets each for Ireland. Earlier, Aarif picked up first two wickets
to fall as Nepal reduced Ireland to 31-2 in 10.5 overs only to be denied
by a 76-run stand between opener Andrew Austin and Gary McClintock.
Nepal, however, hit back dismissing both set batsmen in a space of four

Rajbanshi first dismissed Austin for 44 before Dipendra bowled McClintock
for 45, the latter hitting two fours and a six in 58 balls.
Nepal then
managed to contain Ireland below 200 after Lalit picked up three more
wickets. Lorcan Tucker was Ireland’s next best scorer with 33 off 36
that included four hits to the fence.

finished with the figures of 4-36 and Aarif took 3-21. Dipendra
had the
figures of 2-20 from 5.4 overs. Lalit was named the
while Aarif was named the player-of-the-series.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!