Connect with us


Nepal pitted in tough sub-group of Twenty20 World Cup Qualifiers

Nepal will have to cancel out the challenges from hosts Oman and Canada apart from taking care of Bahrain as the International Cricket Council divided the ICC Twenty20 World Cup Global Qualifiers groups into sub groups.

A total of eight teams are participating in Group ‘A’ of the Qualifiers scheduled to be held from February 18 to 25. Another eight teams are in Group ‘B’. ICC had initially planned to organise a round robin league between the eight teams from where the top two will reach the 2022 World Cup in Australia.

But the supreme body of world cricket has formed sub-groups in each pool from where top two teams will enter the semi-finals. The teams reaching the final in each group will qualify for the global showpiece.

It also means that the teams will two matches less than what was intially planned.

Nepal are pitted against Oman, Canada and Bahrain in Group A. The other groups consists of Ireland, the UAE, Philippines and Germany.

Nepal will take on hosts Oman in their tournament openers before taking Bahrain the next day. Their final league game will be against Canada.

Nepal are eyeing a return in the Twenty20 World Cup after eight years having played the tournament in 2014 in Bangladesh. The national team is currently undergoing closed camp at the TU grounds where 30 players have been called up in the first phase.

The country will now hold the Prime Minister Cup Twenty20 National from Monday before entering the second phase of the camp. Newly appointed skipper Sandeep Lamichhane will join the camp following his return from the Australian Big Bash League.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!