Connect with us


Nepal gets Twenty20 International status


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has given Nepal a Twenty20 International Status. Netherlands was other team to get the status along with Nepal from the ICC Annual Conference that is ongoing in Melbourne.

Nepal had participated in their first ever ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh earlier this year where they grabbed the attention of the global world with its influential performance on and off the field.

Along with the two new T20I teams, ICC now has eight non-Test playing teams with Twenty20 status. Afghanistan, Ireland, Scotland, United Arab Emirates, Scotland, Hong Kong and Papua New Guinea have already secured an automatic Twenty20 international status following the ODI status they gained through ICC’s qualification ladder.

This is the first time the ICC — which has been determining ODI status through different qualification stages — has declared Twenty20 status to any nation. Nepal’s standard as the Twenty20 international status also opens the door for them to play Twenty20 matches against Test playing giants.

Depending on the schedules of the Test playing nations Nepal have opened the opportunity to play Twenty20 matches with India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh, New Zealand and Zimbabwe.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!