Connect with us


Nepal drawn in tough Group ‘D’ including India, Aussies and Kiwis

Nepal are drawn alongside Test playing giants India, Australia and New Zealand in the ICC U-19 World Cup to be held in Bangladesh from January 27 to February 1.

Nepal, who qualified for the Finals after defeating Ireland in the Global Qualifiers in Malaysia on September, play New Zealand in their first match on January 28. They lock horns with Australia on January 30 before taking on India on February 1.

While the top two teams from each eight groups qualify for the quarter-finals, while the third and fourth place finishing sides will vie for the Plate Championship.

Along with other Test nations, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, England, West Indies, Zimbabwe, South Africa and Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Scotland, Fiji, Canada and Namibia are other non-Test playing teams in the tournament.

Nepal will also play two official warm-up games before the tournament proper begins. Nepal, who had once won the Plate Championship, are participating in their seventh U-19 World Cup.

They were 13th in the 2012 edition held in Australia before missing the following edition in 2014. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!