Connect with us


Nepal call-up 22 players for closed-camp post pandemic

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Friday called-up 22 players for a closed-camp as the sport begins its life post pandemic.

Nepal have had several of its tournament postponed in the 2020 calendar after the team participated in the ACC Twenty20 Asia Cup Eastern Region Qualifier in March in Thailand. They were scheduled to play eight matches under the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 but all the fixtures were postponed.

The Nepali cricketers had trained in groups on their own during the eight long month of lockdown and although many restrictions in the country have been lifted, sporting events are yet to hit the ground, albeit behind closed doors.

The closed-camp is set to begin at the TU grounds from November 25. CAN said it will follow all health protocols and will only involve those players who return negative in their Corona Virus tests.

Although Nepal are yet to learn about their future international tournaments, CAN is planning to organise Prime Minister Cup One Day National cricket tournament which is a programme of the Sports Ministry and National Sports Council.

The squad sees the return of fast bowling allrounder Sompal Kami, middle order batsman Sharad Vesawkar and veteran left arm spinner Basanta Regmi. Sompal had to skip both the Asia Cup Qualifier and League 2 matches against USA and Oman. Sharad was out injured since League 2 and Basanta has not been in the team after Nepal returned from their UAE tour in 2019.

As the cricket governing body is yet to finalise the head coach having interviewed the applicants, Jagat Tamatta will continue to look after the team.

List of players called up for closed camp

Gyanendra Malla (captain)
Dipendra Singh Airee (vice-captain)
Paras Khadka
Sharad Vesawkar
Sandeep Lamichhane
Karan KC
Basanta Regmi
Binod Bhandari
Sompal Kami
Sushan Bhari Shrestha
Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi
Aarif Sheikh
Pawan Sarraf
Abinash Bohora
Subash Khakurel
Rohit Kumar Paudel
Kushal Malla
Rashid Khan
Kamal Singh Airee
Sandeep Jora
Kishor Mahato
Bhuwan Karki

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!