Connect with us


Nepal among other Associates get chance for Asia Cup


The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has given an opportunity to Nepal and other ACC Associate teams to joined the Test nations for the two upcoming editions of the Asia Cup.
In its official facebook page, the ACC said the 2016 and 2018 will be “Twenty20 events as a prelude to the ICC World Twenty20s. They will be played between the four Test-playing countries, plus two Associates from an Asia Cup Qualifier.”
The details of the Asia Cup Qualifier is yet to come out, while the hosts for Asia’s biggest cricketing event is yet to be finalised.
The Asia Cup is played between Test nations India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, while Afghanistan had got an opportunity to compete in the 2014 edition where it had stunned Bangladesh for their first ever victory over a Test playing nation.
So far, the Asia Cup has been held twice in the Test format and 12 times in the ODI format (with India and Sri Lanka winning 5 each). Sri Lanka had won last year’s tournament defeating Pakistan in the final.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!