Connect with us


Nary wins Mid-west POY dominated by cricket

Yubaraj Sunar and cricketer Nary Thapa won the Player of the Year (PoY) Awards in the Mid-west NSJF Sports Award here today.  Similarly Chandra Saud of cricket was also honoured with Far-west Special Award.


Judo player Yubaraj was named the best male player of the year ahead of boxer Kalu Rawal, cricketer Mahesh Chhetry, taekwondo (ITF) player Bharat BK and karateka Man Bahadur BK. Yubaraj had claimed gold medal in the SAF Cadet Judo Championship in Bangladesh last year.


In the women’s section, Nary – who was named the player of the match in two ACC tournaments — beat Deva Kumari Oli and Kalpana Chaudhary (handball), Hema Khadka (ITF taekwondo), and Deepa Gurung (judo). Likewise, judo coach Bijay Gurung was named the coach of the year ahead of Jamil Ansari (cricket), Pappu Kewat (ITF taekwondo), Tek Bahadur BK (handball) and Yubaraj Shahi (football).


Cricketer Akash Bista was named the Youth player of the year, in which judoka Rekha Sunar, shuttler Riyaz Ansari, footballer Bhadrakali and handball player Bhesh Kumari Chaudhary were also nominated. Ratan Kumar Tondon was felicitated with the Lifetime Achievement award, while Bharat Budhthapa was handed over the Encouragement award for taking football to the remote parts of Jumla, Karnali.


Also, LB Chhetri was honoured with Special Award for his role in the development of women cricket in the region, whereas national cricket team member Chandra Saud was feted with Far-west Special award. The Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) Banke Coordination Committee has been organising the awards since 2004.         

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!