Connect with us

IPL 2020

Mumbai enter sixth final of Indian Premier League with big victory over Delhi

Mumbai Indians entered their sixth final of the Indian Premier League after brushing aside Delhi Capitals by 57 runs at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Thursday.

Put in to bat first in the first Qualifier, half centuries from Ishan Kishan and Surya Kumar Yadav along with quick knocks from Quinton de Kock and Hardik Pandya lifted Mumbai to a mammoth 200-5 in 20 overs.

Delhi were 3-0 by the second over and 20-4 in the fourth before a late resistance from Marcus Stoinis and Axar Patel earned them some respect to finish at 143-8.

Delhi will now have another shot for the final playing the winners of Friday’s Eliminator match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The second Qualifier is set for November 7 with the final scheduled two days later. Four-time champions Mumbai will play the winners of second Qualifier. Mumbai have failed only once in their previous five finals losing to Chennai Super Kings in the 2010 edition.

Marcus Stoinis looked in ominous form but it was not enough. PHOTO: BCCI/IPL

Delhi’s top order failure against Mumbai continued for the third time in the tournament after Trent Boult struck twice in the first over removing Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane. Shikhar Dhawan went for his third duck in the tournament, bowled by Bumrah as the for the second time in IPL history top three batsman of a team went without opening the account.

Bumrah then had Delhi skipper Shreyas Iyer (12) sharply caught by his opposite number Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant (three) was next to go leaving Delhi at 41-5 in 7.5 overs.

Despite the flurry of wickets Marcus Stoinis played his shots and together with Patel added 71 runs for the sixth wicket to save Delhi blushes. Bumrah came back in the 16th over to get rid of Stoinis and Daniel Sams (duck) to effectively shut any door for Delhi comeback.

Stoinis top scored with a 46-ball 65 that included six fours and three sixes. Bumrah finished with the figures of 4-14 and now leads the Purple Cap with 27 wickets, two ahead of Delhi’s South African paceman Kagiso Rabada.

Axar made 33-ball 42 with three sixes and two boundaries. Boult took 2-9 from two overs and was left with more energy for the final.

De Kock began briskly hitting Sams for 15 runs in the first over before Ravichandran Ashwin trapped Rohit (naught) leg before in the second over. Yadav and De Kock then added 62 runs for the second wicket laying the foundation for the big total.

Ishan Kishan stretched for this ball from Anrich Nortje in the last ball of the innings to complete his half century with a six. PHOTO: BCCI/IPL

De Kock scored 40 from 25 with five fours and a six. Yadav brought his fourth half century of the season and fell to Anrich Nortje making 51 off 38. His fluent innings included six fours and three sixes. Mumbai soon lost Kieron Pollard but Kishan and Hardik Pandya did the rest despite losing Krunal Pandya (13) in between.

Hardik and Kishan added 60 runs from the last 23 deliveries with the former doing most of the damage. He struck five sixes in a 14-ball 37 not out. Kishan, who completed his half century with a six off Nortje in the last ball of the innings, made 55 off 30.

On his way to scoring fourth half century this season, Kishan struck six fours and three sixes. Ashwin took 3-29 for Delhi.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in IPL 2020

error: Content is protected !!