Connect with us


Morris swings Rajasthan to victory, with bat this time

Chris Morris swung Rajasthan Royals to a thrilling three-wicket victory over Delhi Capitals in the Indian Premier League at the Wankhede Stadium on Thursday.

Rajasthan were 104-7 with just 25 balls remaining in chase of Delhi’s 147-8 before Morris took the game away from them.

Rajasthan needed 27 from the last two overs and Morris, who earlier kept his wicket intact with singles and doubles, smacked his South African compatriot Kagiso Rabada for two sixes scoring 15 runs and kept the strike.

With 12 needed from last two, Morris scampered for a double against Tom Curran and hit the Englishman for two sixes in the second and fourth ball to hand Rajasthan first victory in their second game.

Morris clobbered 18-ball 36 in his 46-run stand for the eighh wicket with Jaydev Unadkat.

In chase of an ordinary total, Rajasthan were yet to find their feet when they lost first five wickets for just 42 runs after Chris Woakes and Avesh Khan took two wickets apiece.

In between Rabada dealt the huge blow sending back Rajasthan skipper Sanju Samson, the centurion from previous match, for just four runs.

David Miller tried to resurrect the innings with 48-run stand with Rahul Tewatia (19) before Rabada returned to dismiss the latter. Khan had his man, dismissing Miller just after the South African launched an assault on the bowler with two consecutive sixes.

Miller resurrected the Rajasthan Royals innings from 42-5. PHOTO: BCCI/IPL

Miller’s 43-ball 62 also included seven boundaries. Khan took 2-32 from four overs for Delhi.

Delhi had their own story of struggle after getting reduced to 37-4 by the seventh over including the duck dismissal of ace foreign recruit Marcus Stoinis. Unadkat wreaked havoc in the top order polishing off the first three wickets.

Despite the pressure captain Rishabh Pant never ceased to refrain from his usual playing style and scored a 32-ball 51. Risbhabh hit nine boundaries and when he was dismissed Delhi had just 88 runs on the board.

Tom Curran (21), Lalit Yadav (20) and Chris Woakes (15 not out) pushed them to what ultimately was a winning total. Bangladesh’s ace spinner Mustafizur Rahman also took 2-29 from four overs for Rajasthan.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in International

error: Content is protected !!