Connect with us


Morang run riot over Sunsari to claim Province 1 PM Cup Selection title

Morang rode on three aggressive half centuries to lift Province 1 Selection Tournament title for the Prime Minister Cup One Day National Tournament.

In the 40-over match at the Kankai Cricket Ground, Minash Thapa, Ravi Roy and Mukunda Yadav all struck half centuries lifting Morang to a mammoth 294-5. Dipesh Kandel then took four wickets as Sunsari were 131 all out in 35.2 overs.

The day was all about Morang’s batting who took no time to recover after they lost their first wicket with 34 runs on the board. Minash and Ravi built the innings with a 93-run partnership before the latter added a match-winning 131-run stand with Mukund.

Minash scored a 60-ball 67 with nine fours and a six and Ravi’s run-a-ball 93 included 10 hits to the fence and three maximum. The damage was done by Mukunda who struck seven boundaries and five sixes in his 50-ball 83.

Siddhant Lohani also chipped in a 15-ball 23 with three fours. Bhupal Luitel took two wickets for Sunsari.

Sunsari never recovered after Morang fast bowlers Firdosh Ansari and Aashish Shrestha struck in the first five overs. Rest eight wickets were taken by spinners with Dipesh bowling effectively to return the figures of 4-14 from 7.2 overs. Siddhant and Suvankar Uraw also took two wickets apiece.

Sunsari were 86-8 before their No 9 batsman Rakesh Soni earned some respectability to the total scoring a 31-ball 39 hitting four sixes and two boundaries. Saroj Basnet’s 49-ball 36 included seven boundaries and Sonu Mandal (16) was the only remaining batsman to reach double figures.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Latest