Connect with us


Mayor Cup: APF, Sudur Paschim earn victories

Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Sudur Paschim Province registered victories on the opening day of the Lalitpur Mayor Women’s Championship Twenty20 on Saturday.

APF exacted their revenge on Province 1 defeating the Prime Minister Cup champions by eight wickets. Sudur Paschim overcame a late fight from Lalitpur Mayor XI for a seven-wicket win.

In the first match of the day, APF came at the TU cricket ground having lost to Province 1 in the final of the Prime Minister Cup three months ago in Dang. They restricted Province 1 to 106-4 in 20 overs and on the back of a solid start from openers Sita Rana Magar and Jyoti Pandey reached 107-2 with 12 balls to spare.

Sita and Jyoti laid the foundation for easy APF victory adding 70 runs for the first wicket. Jyoti made 32 off 40 with five hits to the fence. Sita remained unbeaten on 52 off 50 with seven boundaries.

Earlier, Rubina Chhetri held the Province 1 innings forging a 66-run stand for the second wicket with Roma Thapa. Rubina made 45 off 48 with six boundaries. Roma contributed 33 off 42 with five hits to the fence.

Later, Kanchan Shrestha was the lone fighter scoring a 56-ball 63 not out steering her team to 107-5 in 20 overs. Sudur Paschim started strong, had a wobble in the middle, but Dolly Bhatta’s big hitting helped them reach 113-3 in 19 overs.

Manju Bokati and Rewati Dhami (18) began with a 52-run partnership but Lalitpur clawed their way back leaving Sudur Paschim with 19 to get in the last 18 balls.

Dolly struck Saraswati Chaudhary for two boundaries in the 17th over where Sudur Paschim collected 13 runs. Dolly remained unbeaten on 22 off 14 with two fours and a six. She shared 37 runs for the fourth wicket with Kabita Joshi (10) who hit the winning six.

Manju contributed 42-ball 41 to the Sudur Paschim total hitting six boundaries. Earlier, Kanchan bailed out her team from 45-4 adding 62 runs for the fifth wicket with Asmina Karmacharya (13). Kanchan hit eight boundaries in her innings.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in Latest