Connect with us


Mahabir win District Selection final

Mahabir Club defeated Kathmandu Khel Mandal (KKM) by 50 runs to win the Kathmandu District Senior Twenty20 Selection Tournament at the Pulchowk Engineering College grounds on Thursday.  


In the final match, Mahabir made 135-4 in 20 overs and bundled out KKM for just 85 runs in 16.2 overs. Rahul Bansal, Niraj Agrawal and Rohit Sharma took two wickets each for Mahabir, while Nabin Pradhan had one scalp.


Niraj Basnet top scored for KKM with 20 runs off 19 balls hitting three boundaries, while Manish Gupta (18) and Sanosh Chhetri (13) were the only remaining batsmen to reach double digits.


Earlier, Sandeep Shrestha posted a match-high 43 off 36 for Mahabir to give his team a modest total. Sandeep clobbered five boundaries and two sixes. Monir Shrestha also chipped in 38 off 45 with two fours and a six, while Prafulla Vaidya made 17 off 20 that included three hits to the fence.


Bibhatsu Thapa – who was later adjudged the best batsman of the tournament – made a  12-ball 15 not out with two maximu. Niraj Basnet took two wickets for KKM with Sujan Budhathoki and Ramesh Chhetri also picking up one wicket each.


Sandeep was adjudged the man-of-the-final, Arpan Kafle of Nepali Cricket Fans Club was the best bowler and Niraj Bhattarai of KKM was the player-of-the-tournament. The best players from the tournament will form a Kathmandu district team which will play Regional Selection Tournament for Region No 3 Kathmandu for the upcoming National Twenty20 Tournament.

The Regional Selection Tournament will include district teams from Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur and Nuwakot.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!