Connect with us


Machhapuchhre Cricket League from August 1

City of Lakes Pokhara will see it first every professional Twenty20 cricket with the advent of Machhapuchhre Cricket League (MCL) which is set to begin from August 1-11.

Machhapuchhre Cricket Club (MCC) and Khukuri Ent. are jointly launching the tournament that will see the auction of the players and participation of five district teams and the organisers.

“Machhapuchhure Cricket League has not been devised as a commercial event and has been created more for the purpose of creating opportunities for young and aspiring cricketers of Syangja, Tanahu, Baglung, Parbat, Lamjung, Gorkha and Kaski who rarely have chance to play competitive cricket tournament, the organisers said during a press conference in Pokhara on Tuesday.

Bijay BK (Baglung), Diwakar Thapa (Syangja), Raju Thapa (Parbat), Raju Gurung (Tanahun), Pravin Dhakal (Pokhara) and Deepesh Khatri (MCC) were the six captains and teams unveiled during the press conference.

The captains will sit alongside team owners for the auction, while the cricketers will be selected through an open trial. Each team will be allowed to take 15 players.

The winners will get Rs 300,000 and the runners-up will take home Rs 200,000. While the best player of the tournament will get Rs 20,000, the best bowler and batsman will pocket Rs 10,000 each. Every man-of-the-match will take Rs 2,000 and man-of-the-final will grab Rs 5,000.

At the conclusion of the league stage, the top four teams will qualify for the playoffs. The top two teams from the league phase will play against each other in the first Qualifier with the winner going to the final and the loser will meet the winners of the Eliminator match between second and third placed team in the second Qualifier.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!