Connect with us


Koirala appointed CAN’s Acting Prez

Following a three-day extension of its board meeting, the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has finally found the replacement for the deceased Acting President TB Shah, appointing Deepak Koirala at the post.


CAN was running without a President after Shah passed away on Jan 26 and despite repeated calls for board meeting to make the decision through a board meeting, the cricket governing body was not able to mobilize the members to come up with a decision.


Shah had taken the top post in CAN after the 10 officials who were charged for their alleged involvement in corruption of millions of rupees in the construction of Mulpani Stadium had stepped aside.


The 39-year old Koirala, who hails from Pokhara, is counted as one of the intellectual individual in the UCPN-Maoists and Is the chief of the Maoists Kaski District Committee. He was previously a nominated vice-president of the CAN.


Koirala will also be the coordinator of the CAN’s working committee and the World Cricket League Championship Preparation Committee. In another big decision, Diwakar Ghale has been removed from his post of acting treasurer with Shailesh Kumar Chaudhary taking over from him.


CAN’s executive committee had been in a dogfight over the claims in the post for the acting president. Vice-president Srinivas Rana was also in the claims for the post but he was unavailable for the board meeting. Ghale was also not available for the meeting.

CAN Subcommittees and their coordinators

1. Working Committee – Deepak Koirala

2. Development Committee – Keshav Ghimire

3. Discipline Committee – Ramchandra Sharma

4. Technical Committee – Uttam Kumar Karmacharya

5. Finance Committee – Shailesh Kumar Chaudhary

6. Event Committee – Srinivas Rana


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!