Connect with us


Knight Riders remain undisputed in fourth CPL trophy triumph

Trinbago Knight Riders remained undisputed claiming the Caribbean Premier League title beating St Lucia Zouks by eight wickets at the Brian Lara Stadium on Thursday.

Knight Riders remained unbeaten throughout their campaign and won their fourth trophy in eight editions. Barbados Tridents have two, while Jamaica Tallawahs and Barbados Tridents have one title to their name.

Before the 2016 takeover, Knight Riders had won the title as Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel.

Electing to field first, Knight Riders bundled out Zouks for 154 runs in 19.1 overs. The target initially looked challenging but Lendl Simmon architected an easy victory smashing a whirlwind 49-ball 84 as Knight Riders reached 157-2 in 18.1 overs.

Knight Riders had an early wobble after they lost Tion Webster and Tim Seifert with just 19 runs on the board before Simmons led the charge in an unbroken 138-run partnership for the third wicket with Darren Bravo.

Man-of-the-match Simmons smashed eight fours and four sixes. Bravo also struck six sixes on his way to a 47-ball 58.

A collective batting effort from the top and middle order had laid the foundation for a big Zouks total before their lower middle order crumbled. Mark Deyal (29) and Andre Fletcher notched up a notable 67-run partnership for the second wicket for Zouks. Roston Chase (22) and Najibullah Zadran (24) also contributed in double figures but rest of the batsmen failed to reach double figures.

Skipper Kieron Pollard was an unlikely star with the ball for Knight Riders picking up 4-30 from four overs. Ali Khan also had two scalps.

List of Caribbean Premier League winners

YearWinnersRunners-upFinal Result
2013Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon WarriorsTallawahs won by 7 wickets
2014Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon Warriors Tridents won by 8 runs (D/L)
2015Trinidad & Tobago Red SteelBarbados TridentsRed Steel won by 20 runs
2016Jamaica TallawahsGuyana Amazon WarriorsTallawahs won by 9 wickets
2017Trinbago Knight RidersSt Kitts & Nevis PatriotsKnight Riders won by 3 wickets
2018Trinbago Knight RidersGuyana Amazon Warriors Knight Riders won by 8 wickets
2019Barbados TridentsGuyana Amazon WarriorsTridents won by 27 runs
2020Trinbago Knight RidersSt Lucia ZouksKnight Riders on by 8 wickets

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in International