Connect with us


Kathmandu, Makawanpur lock horns for Bagmati Province final spot

Kathmandu defeated Nuwakot by two wickets for their second consecutive victory in the Bagmati Province Selection for the Prime Minister Cup One Day National cricket tournament on Sunday.

Monday’s match between Kathmandu and Makawanpur will now decide the team to reach the final from four-team Group ‘A’. Nuwakot and Bhaktapur have already crashed out from the group stage. From Group ‘B’, Chitwan has reached the final.

At the TU grounds, Nuwakot batted well to put on a challenging 208-9 from 40 overs after Rajesh Rimal scored an impressive 73-ball 81. Kathmandu were reduced to 28-3 but a middle and late order resistance helped them reach 209-8 in the last ball of the innings.

Bibhatsu Thapa began the resurrection of Kathmandu innings with a 97-run fourth-wicket stand with Bipin Bikram Shahi. Kathmandu lost both set batsmen in a space of five runs but other batsman scored enough runs to hand them the victory.

Bibhatsu made 51 off 79 with six boundaries and a maximum. Bipin made 56-ball 42 with seven hits to the fence. Jitendra Singh Thakuri (30-ball 31) and Rajit Timalsina (22 off 16) also chipped in invaluable runs for Kathmandu.

Aviraj Yadav (3-41) and Rajesh Rimal (2-35) shared five wickets between them for Nuwakot.

Rajesh held the Nuwakot innings with three modest partnerships including 64-run stand for the third wicket with Ayush Basnet (27). Pawan Rai (23) and Anup Shrestha (20) were other notable scorers for Nuwakot.

Rajesh’s innings included 10 fours and two sixes. Ishan Pandey took 3-44, while Sanjam Regmi had two scalps for Kathmandu.

Lalitpur, meanwhile, finished third in Group ‘B’ after a 123-run victory over Tribhuvan University. A scintillating century from Pawan Gopal Shrestha lifted Lalitpur to 268-7 from 40 overs at the Mulpani Cricket Ground. TU were restricted to 145-9 despite their openers giving them a decent start.

Prithu Baskota and Sushant Timalsina (28) began with a 74-run partnership for the first wicket and once they were gone, TU innings crumbled. Prithu made a 60-ball 49 with seven hits to the fence.

Ashutosh Ghiraiya (3-19), Sumit Jha (2-28) and Bipin Acharya (2-37) were the leading wicket takers for Lalitpur.

TU had done well to restrict Laltipur to 54-4 after Prithu took three wickets but Pawan and Sachin Lekhak defied the attack with a solid 140-run stand for the fifth wicket. Sachin made 64 off 68 with six boundaries.

After Sachin’s departure, Pawan added another 67 runs for the sixth wicket with Bipin Acharya (17) giving his side a rock-solid total.

Pawan was unbeaten on a 103-ball 117 with 10 fours and three sixes. Prithu took 4-59 and Sushant snared 2-50 for TU.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Latest