Connect with us


Karan, Rajesh, Pradeep to join SL Tour


Emerging seamer Karan KC, Jitendra Mukhiya, batsmen Pradeep Airee, Mahesh Chhetri and Rajesh Pulami are set to return with the national team for its 18-day Sri Lanka tour.


Although the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) is yet to make the final announcement, has learnt that the five players will join 12 cricketers who were the part of the national team that lifted the ICC World Cricket League Division-III title in Malaysia on October 30.


Sharad Vesawkar and Aarif Sheikh – who were in Malaysia for Nepal’s triumphant Division-III campaign – will miss the tour. Sharad was the biggest exclusion from the squad who has been sidelined from the tour due to exhaustion. Aarif will be representing Nepal in the ACC U-19 Premier beginning from November 7 in Kuwait.


Pradeep, Mahesh and Jitendra had missed a place in the Division-III squad, while Karan and Rajesh will be making their national team debut. Karan was excluded from the final 14-member squad for the Division-III.


Rajesh – touted as a talented batsman who also a good turner of the ball – had joined current national team opener Naresh Budhayer for a one-month training with Marylebone Cricket Club last year.


Other members in the national team for the Sri Lank tour will include skipper Paras Khadka, vice-captain Gyanendra Malla, Subash Khakurel, Naresh, Binod Bhandari, Som Pal Kami, Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Mehboob Alam, Amrit Bhattarai, Bhuwan Karki and Sagar Pun.


Nepal will play two –three-day matches (against Sri Lanka Development Squad), three Twenty20 Internationals and one 50-over game against Hong Kong in their SL tour that will begin from November 6.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!