Connect with us


Jitendra earns Twenty20 call, Chandra out

Jitendra Mukhiya replaced experienced Chadra Sawad as the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) announced a 15-member squad with three seamers for the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers beginning at the United Arab Emirates from November 15. 


The squad also saw a heroic comeback of Mahesh Chhetri who made his way back into the national fold after more than two years. Mahesh was the most consistent batsman in the recently held Pepsi Standard Chartered National Twenty20 with three half centuries under his belt. 


After a layoff in the ACC Emerging Teams Cup, Amrit Bhattarai made a comeback for the UAE event with Avinash Karn retaining his place. Paras Khadka will lead the side that includes Gyanendra Malla as his deputy, Sharad Vesawkar, Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Rahul Kumar BK, Binod Bhandari, Pradeep Airee, Anil Mandal, Sagar Pun and Subash Khakurel.


Naresh Budhayer, Ram Naresh Giri and Bhuwan Karki along with Chandra are in reserve. Chandra had made wonderful debut with national when he picked up four wickets against Hong Kong at the same venue during the 2012 Twenty20 Qualifiers.


Experienced Sanjam Regmi was also sidelined. Sanjam didn’t compete in the National Twenty20 due to his eye problem. Sanjam was also kept out of the Emerging Teams Cup held in Singapore.


Former skipper and fast bowler quit the camp following a hamstring tear, while others omitted from 23-member camp were Yagya Man Kumal, Manjeet Shrestha and Som Pal Thapa. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!