Connect with us


Jayawardene returns back in test

Former captain and on of the most experienced player of the team Mahela Jayawardene has been included in the team for Sri Lanka’s three test match series against Pakistan in UAE on Monday. Jayawardene had skipped the ongoing ODI series due to some personal reason.


Likewise Sri Lanka has also included the left arm spinner Rangana Herath in the 16 man squad.


With some surprise Sri Lanka has added three uncapped test players for the series against Pakistan.


Vishwa Fernando, a 22 years old left arm fast bowler who has not played in any format of the game for his country has been added in the team. Likewise Schitra Senanayake and Dilruwan Perera who has played in OIDs and T20s for their country were another two players who has been added in the test team for the first time.


Shaminda Eranga, the fast bowler has been recalled to the team after being rested for the ODIs against New Zealand and Pakistan.


Kaushal Silava, wicket keeper batsman has been given a place in the team as a replacement of Tillakaratne Dilshan, who retired from test cricket earlier this year.


The first of three test match series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka will start in Abu Dhabi from December 31.


Sri Lanka test squad :- Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Mahela Jayawardene, Prasanna Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga, Vishwa Fernando, Sachitra Senanayake, Nuwan Pradeep, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in International

error: Content is protected !!