Connect with us


Janakpur, Dhangadhi open with victory

Region-VII (Janakpur) and Region-IX (Dhangadhi) returned with huge victories in the Wai Wai U-16 Inter-school Girls’ National Cricket Tournament in Lahan on Wednesday.


Janakpur crushed Region-II (Birgunj) with a huge margin of 108 runs. Electing to bat first, Janakpur made 160-7 in 20 overs before bundling out Birgunj for just 52 runs in 19 overs. Binu Roka (3-5) and Mamta Chaudhary (3-6) shared six wickets between them for Janakpur.


Only Ajima Khatun (15) was able to cross double figures of Birgunj. Aarati Chaudhary and Anuradha Chaudhary also picked up two wickets each to support the leading wicket takers.


Earlier, Karishma Dhamala top scored for Janakpur making 45 off 24 with seven boundaries. Anuradha Chaudhary also contributed 24 off 13 with three boundaries. Aarati Chaudhary (22) and Anjali Chaudhary (13) also contributed to the total. Sabbu Khan took 3-25 from four overs for Birgunj.


An unbeaten half century from Kabit Joshi led Dhangadhi to a 53-run rout of Region-IV (Bhairahawa) in the other match of the day. Kabita scored 66 not out from 48 balls hitting six boundaries as Dhangadhi piled up 154-3 in 20 overs. Bhairahawa were 101 all out in 19 overs.


Kabita Kunwar (3-25), Menuka Kunwar (2-16) and Kabit Joshi (2-20) demolished the Bhairahawa batting order that had Kriti Sen as their top scorer. Kriti made 25 off 22. Sima Thapa (19) and Mahima Rana (17) also chipped in but for a losing cause.


Apart from Kabita, Punam Parswan also contributed a valuable 24 not out off 26 balls hitting three fours and a six. Chandani Shah (16) and Kavita Kunwar (11) also made some modest contributions. Anisha Shahi, Shristi Raskoti and Parwati Saru also picked up a wicket each.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!