Connect with us


ICC confirms Nepal’s place in WCLC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has confirmed that Nepal and Kenya will replace Afghanistan and Ireland in the ICC World Cricket League Championship (WCLC) that will take place from 2015-17.  


Both teams had finished third and fourth in the recently concluded ICC World Cricket League Division-II with their status in the ICC programmes pending. Coach Pubudu Dassanayake had said Nepal will compete in the WCLC by the virtue of their third and fourth place finishes in Division-II but it was yet to be confirmed officially.  


The ICC meeting in Dubai on Wednesday has given a chance to Afghanistan and Ireland to qualify directly for 2019 World Cup allowing them to join the 10 Full Members in the rankings-based qualification system.  


If both teams manage to finish inside the top eight in the rankings-based system of the Full Member countries, they will directly qualify for the 2019 World Cup. Rest of the four will join the 10-team ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!