Connect with us


Gyanendra to lead APF in absence of Paras as PM Cup set for the start

The six captains for the country’s highest cash prize Prime
Ministers’s Cup One Day National cricket tournament have been unveiled on
Monday with national cricket team captain Paras Khadka giving a no show.

Gyanenrda Malla will lead the Nepal Armed Police Force (APF)
Club in absence of Paras, while former APF cricketer Sharad Vesawkar will lead
the Central Region team. The tournament consists of eight teams, also including
Eastern, Western, Mid-western and Far Western region along with Tribhuvan Army
Club (TAC) and Nepal Police Club (NPC).

TAC has Binod Bhandari as their skipper and Manjeet Shrestha
will be leading the youthful NPC team. Pushpa Thapa will lead the Eastern
Region, while Surendra Chand will guide Far Western Region. Western Region is
yet to select its captain and Subhendu Pandey will be skippering Mid-western Region.

Tournament managers Kathmandu Cricket Training Centre (KCTC)
said it has completed all the preparations for the tournament. KCTC is looking
after the complete organisation of the tournament organised by National Sports

The champions will get two million rupees, highest ever in
the domestic cricket and the runners up will get one million. The losing
semi-finalists will get Rs 50,000 apiece. Each team registering a victory in
the league stage will also get a winning bonus of Rs 25,000.

APF, Central, Mid-western and Western Region are in Group ‘A’,
while TAC, NPC, Eastern and Far-western Region are in Group ‘B’. On the opening
day, TAC will take on Eastern Region.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!