Connect with us


Government honours cricketers with cash

The government on Thursday handed over a cash reward of Rs 350,000 each to the ICC World Cricket League Division-III title winning national team members. 


Amidst a programme at the Youth and Sports Ministry in Kamalpokhari, Minister Ram Kumar Shrestha handed over the rewards to the cricketers.


Skipper Paras Khadka, vice-captain Gyanendra Malla, Anil Mandal, Subash Khakurel, Pradeep Airee, Sharad Vesawkar, Binod Bhandari, Basanta Regmi, Sanjam Regmi, Prithu Baskota, Shakti Gauchan, Naresh Buhdayer, Rahul Kumar BK, Chandra Saud and Amrit Bhattarai were the part of the team that lifted the title of Division-III in Bermuda on May 5.


Coach Pubudu Dassanayake – who is currently in Canada – along with team manager TB Shah and physio V Subramanyam were the officials to receive cash rewards. After reaching the final of the Division-III, Nepal gained promotion to the ICC Cricket World Cup Qulaifier scheduled for January, 2014 in Newzealnd.

The World Cup Qualifier sends top two teams in the 2015 World Cup to be jointly held in Australia and Newzealand.


Thanking the gesture, skipper Paras said responsibilities for the national team has further taken a new height. 

No honour for technical analyst

However, the Ministry didn’t reward technical analyst Raman Shiwakoti who was with the team in Bermuda. Shiwakoti has been honoured in every other felicitation programme along with the national team after the victorious team returned from Bermuda. 


Shiwakoti has been voluntarily serving for Nepali cricket for more than half-a-decade and was also honoured the cricket governing body Cricket Association of Nepal. Shiwakoti’s contribution has been very crucial in Nepal’s victorious Division-III campaign.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!