Connect with us


Gorkha Brewery stun Sipradi to claim Corporate Indoor Cup

Gorkha Brewery claimed the Coca-Cola Indoor Corporate Cup cricket tournament stunning title contenders Sipradi Trading by three wickets.


Sipradi, who had piled up a tournament-high 123 against Kantipur TV in the semi-finals, were stopped at 91-6 in 12 overs after Prashant Dhakal picked up two wickets for Gorkha Brewery.


Gorkha Brewery replied with 92-4 clinching victory in last ball of the tournament after Biswash Manadhar set the foundation with an all-important 26-ball 38. Man-of-the-final, Manandhar hit two fours and a six.


Bijay Rawat also played an important cameo of 14-ball 30 hitting two sixes, while Krishna Banka and Ashim Aryal contributed 11 runs apiece. Chiran Thapa and Mukesh Sigdel picked up a wicket each for Sipradi.


Earlier, Thapa had also top scored for the losing side with a 26-ball 24 not out in a boundary less innings. Birendar Mandal (19) and Shawant Sijapati (12) were other batsmen to make runs in double figures.


Biswash was also the star performer with the bat for Gorkha Brewery in their six-run victory over F1 Soft in the semi-finals. Biswash made 20-ball 29 with a six and a four leading his side to 95-4. F1 Soft were restricted to 89-5 in reply.


Vijay Rawat also chipped in a 21-ball 27. Prabesh Mathema picked up two wickets for F1 Soft.


F1 Soft were cruising after Rabindra Gautam played a crucial innings ending up with a 28-ball 51 with three sixes and two fours but his dismissal meant Gorkha Bewery had an edge. Prayash Bista also made 22 runs for F1 Soft. Prashant took two wickets for Gorkha Brewery.


In the second semi-final, Sipradi had overcome Kantipur TV by 56 runs after Sipradi’s top three batsmen ran riot guiding the team to 123-3. Kantipur could only manage 67-5 with Roshan Shrestha top scoring with a 34-ball 37 that included three sixes.


Amar Pradhan also made 17 off 28. Birendra Mandal took two wickets for Sipradi who earlier had Dipesh Shrestha as the leading scorer with 18-ball 35 that included two sixes and a four. Shawan Sijapati (30), Shailendra Nepali (22) and Chiran (19) were other contributors for Sipradi.


Shawan was later adjudged the man-of-the-series and best bowler of the tournament. KTV’s Roshan, who had also taken two wickets in the semis, walked away with the best batsman award. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Others

error: Content is protected !!