Connect with us


Final squad unveiled for ACC U-16 Premier

The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Friday unveiled the final 14-member squad for the ACC U-16 Premier League with Sumit Maharjan named the skipper.



The ACC U-16 Premier League is slated for August 14-20 in Malaysia with six teams in haunt for the first ever Premier League title. ACC has replaced the past year’s biennial ACC U-16 Elite by U-16 Premier League similar to ACC Premier League.


The final round of selection held from August 5-8 saw Rabin Singh, Aman Panthi, Suraj Bohora and Suman Ghimire losing their place in the final squad. Aasif Sheikh is named the vice captain of the tournament.


Other team members include Pranit Thapa, Sushant Singh Thapa, Pawan Sarraf, Jitendra Singh Thakuri, Rabindra Shahi, Rabi Kumar Shah, Rabi Chand, Aashish Pokharel, Bijay Chaudhary, Anil Kharel, Rijan Dhakal and Roshan Adhikari.


Coach duo Basanta Shahi and Raju Basnyat will look after the team in Malaysia, while Ranjit Tamang has been named the team manager. The team finishing at the top of the table after the league matches will be crowned the champions.


Apart from hosts Malaysia and Nepal, Oman, Thailand, Singapore and Bahrain are the other teams in the tournament. Nepal will begin the tournament with the match against Thailand at the Selangor Turf Club on August 14.


They will meet Singapore at the Kinrara grounds on August 15 and following a rest day, Nepal will lock horns with Oman at the Royal Selangor Club. Nepal’s last two matches will be against Bahrain (Aug 18) at the STC and against Malaysia (Aug 20) at the Kinrara.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!