Connect with us


EPL becomes ICC-sanctioned Twenty20 League

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has sanctioned this season’s TVS Everest Premier League paving way for international cricketers to come and join the Twenty20 League of Nepal. 

ICC had categorised EPL as a ‘Disapproved Cricket’ disallowing its member nations to give a No Objection Letter (NoC) for the tournament. However, domestic cricketers could have participated in the tournament. 
Following the status as an ‘Approved Cricket’, EPL can now see the participation of top notch cricketers from the Test playing and non-Test playing countries.
According to organisers EPL Pvt Ltd, the ICC will be paid a sanctioning amount of $20,000. The amount, as informed by EPL organisers, will be used solely towards the development of Nepali cricket. 
In its email, ICC has stated that it sanctioned the event after getting satisfying views from relevant stakeholders. This is the first time that any domestic tournament in Nepal has been sanctioned by the ICC.
EPL is a six-team city-based franchise Twenty20 competition participated in by Chitwan Tigers, Kathmandu Kings XI, Lalitpur Patriots, Biratnagar Warriors, Pokhara Rhinos and Bhairahawa Gladiators. 
It is mandatory for all the teams to have three international recruits in their team apart from roping in a player through talent hunt programme. Patriots on Wednesday had announced their three international recruits that included former Delhi Daredevils cricketer Yogesh Nagar.
The tournament kicks off at the TU Stadium from December 18 and has become one of the most hyped cricket tournament of the country.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!