Connect with us


DPL Teams, Owners, Captain revealed

Six teams, their owners and captains have been unveiled on Thursday for the much-awaited Dhangadi Premier League (DPL) slated to begin in Dhangadi from March 19 to April 1.

Dhangadi Cricket Academy (DCA) and Sudur Paschimanchal Academy (SPA) are jointly organising the tournament which is so far the highest cash prize event in Nepali cricket history giving away Rs 1.5 million to the champions. The runners-up will get Rs 700,000.

The cash prize, however, is not the only bright side of the tournament. The tournament will see a lucrative auction of the cricketers with captains of each team paid Rs 150,000 apiece.

CYC Attariya, Chauraha of Dhangadi, Kanchanpur Iconic are the three teams from the Far West Region. Three city teams include Kathmandu Goldens, Rupandehi Challengers and Biratnagar Kings. The captains were appointed following a lucky draw.

A total of 217 players have been registered for the tournament and they will be kept in auction on Saturday. Current national team cricketers, with minimum 15 matches under their belt, will have a base price of Rs 50,000.

The base price for national cricketers, who have played less than 15 matches, along with U-19 World Cup players will start from Rs 30,000. Former age group cricketers will have a base price of Rs 25,000. Auction for the uncapped players will start from Rs 20,000.

Each team needs to have four uncapped cricketers in their squad. The top four teams after a round robin league will enter the playoffs. The top two teams will play in the Qualifier 1 which will send the winner into the final.

The loser of Qualifier 1 will meet the winners of Eliminator to be held between the third and fourth placed teams in Qualifier 2. Man-of-the-series will get a motorbike.


Team Chauraha (Captain: Paras Khadka, Owner: Rajkumar Shrestha)

CYC Attariya (Captain: Gyanendra Malla, Owner: Srijanshil Youth Club)

Kathmandu Goldens (Captain: Basanta Regmi, Owner: Golden Gate)

Rupandehi Challengers (Captain: Shakti Gauchan, Owner: SR Group)

Kanchanpur Iconic (Captain: Binod Bhandari, Owner: Pitamber Joshi)

Biratnagar Kings (Captain: Sharad Vesawkar, Owner: Mahalaxmi Cable)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!