Connect with us


Down Town Pokhara enter final, Machhapuchhre stay alive

Down Town Pokhara Lions entered the final of the sneaking past Parbat Titans in the first Qualifier of the Machhapuchhre League Twenty20 in Pokhara on Wednesday.

Electing to bat first, Titans’ innings folded at 73 in 16 overs before Lions reached 74-8 with 24 balls to spare. Man-of-the-match Parvin Pandey had lifted Lions from a precarious position of 4-30 striking three fours and two sixes in a quickfire 12-ball 27.

Sudeep Poudel (10) and Manoj Koirala (12) were other Lions batsmen to make runs in double figures. Raju Tamang and Raju Thapa picked up two wickets each for Titans who will now meet organisers Machhapuchhre Lions in the second Qualifier on Thursday.

Titans were shut down for a low total after Biru Gurung, Lal Bahadur Gurung, Parvin and Himal Gaha took two wickets each for Lions. Abhishek Thapa was the leading scorer for Titans making 23 off 22 with a boundary, while Deepen Rayamajhi made a boundaryless run-a-ball 18.

Later in the day, Machhapuchhre revived their fortunes with an emphatic eight-wicket victory over VM Warriors Baglung. Warrios failed to negotiate with Machhpuchhre bowlers as they were bundled out for 63 runs in 20 overs.

Skipper Dipesh Khatri promoted himself in the top order and carried the bat with 35 not out as Machhapuchhre reached 66-2 in just eight overs. Dipesh struck seven boundaries in 27 deliveries and shared a 49-run unbroken partnership for the third wicket with Mahesh Regmi who made eight-ball 11 with a six and a four.

Man-of-the-match Dipesh was also effective with the ball picking up two wickets to support Virat Duwadi who returned the figures of 3-16 from four overs. Ram Krishna KC was Warriors’ leading scorer with 16 off 26 hitting a six, while Tejendra G Magar (11) was the second best contributor.

1st Qualifier: LCP Down Town Vs Parbat Titans

Match was reduced to 16 over due to ground condition.

Parbat Titans won the toss and bat first.

Parbat Titans 73 runs 10 wickets in 16 over.

Abhishek Thapa 23(22) (1 four 1 six)

Deepen Raymajhi 18(18)

Biru Gurung 4 over 08 runs 2 wicket

Lal Bahadur Gurung 3 over 15 runs 2 wicket

Prabin pandey 3 over 14 run 2 wicket

Himal Gaha 3 over 18 runs 2 wickets

LCP Down Town

Prabin Pandey 27(12) (3 four 2 six)

Sudip Poudel 10(17)

Raju Tamang 3 over 07 runs 2 wicket

Raju Thapa 3 overs 18 runs 2 wicket

LCP Down Town won the match by 2 wickets.

Man of the match: Prabin Pandey


Eliminator: Machhapuchhre Lions Vs VM Warriors Baglung

Machhapuchhre Lions 63 runs for 10 wickets in 20 over’s.

Ramkrishna KC 16(26) (1 six)

Virat Duwadi 4 over 16 runs 3 wickets

Amit Chhetri 4 over 14 runs 2 wickets

Deepesh Khatri 4 over 02 runs 1 wicket.

VM Warriors 66 runs 2 wickets 8 over

Deepesh Khatri 35*(27) (7fours)

Machhapuchhre lions won by 8  wickets

Man of the match: Deepesh Khatri

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Others

error: Content is protected !!