Connect with us


Corruption-charged CAN loses Division-III

Nepal have lost a chance to host their second ever ICC event after the International Cricket Council decided to give the ICC World Cricket League Division-III to Uganda.

The world cricket’s governing body had initially proposed Nepal to host the Division-III in April but on Tuesday it issued a release saying Uganda have been given the hosting rights. The latest ICC decision could have been a result of the current crisis in the Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN).


On Sunday, the Commission for the Investigation of the Abuse of Authority (CIAA) charge sheeted 10 CAN officials along with eight others for their alleged involvement in financial irregularities in the construction of the Mulpani Cricket Stadium.


The CIAA move will legally not allow the ICC to do any kind of transaction with the officials of the CAN who have been charged for corruption. Among those charged for corruption are President Tanka Aangbuhang, Vice-presidents Chatur Bahadur Chand and Sunil Amatya, General Secretary Ashok Nath Pyakuryal and Sunil Man Amatya, Treasurer Raju Babu Shrestha, Secretary Thakur Pahadi, members Kiran Rana, Thakur Pratap Thapa, Binod Mainali and Purna Lama.


Nepal previously hosted ICC World Cricket League Division-V in 2010. The Division-III will included Nepal, Uganda, USA, Bermuda and other two teams from the Division-IV, slated for September 21-28. The Division-III, from where top two teams will reach the Division-II, will be held from October 26 to November 2.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!