Connect with us


Coetzer pips Paras to become Associate Player of the Decade

Former Nepal national team skipper Paras Khadka lost to Kyle Coetzer as the Scottish captain claimed the ICC Men’s Associate Player of the Decade Award.

Coetzer had guided Scotland to the 2015 World Cup in Australia and New Zealand and has been the central figure in Scotland’s rise in world cricket over the decade. Paras, who led Nepal to One Day International status through the 2018 ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe, had guided his nation to the 2014 ICC World Twenty20, the first and so far the only global showpiece event appearance of the country.

ICC on Sunday declared the winners of bot the men’s and women’s Associate Player of the Decade. It was a great day for Scotland as Kathryn Bryce won the women’s Associate Player of the Decade. A panel of jury from the ICC declared the winners. ICC had also opened voting for all the decade awards it launched for the first time.

It will also be awarding men’s and women’s players of the decade, Test, ODI and Twenty20 Internaitonal players of the decade. All the categories were also voted for. It is also giving away ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade.

Coetzer was among three Scottish players nominated in the Associate category. Callum McLeod and Richie Berrington were the other two. Former Dutch captain Peter Borren and Uganda skipper Asad Vala were the other two nominees.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in Latest