Connect with us


Clinical Lumbini become U-19 National champions

Lumbini Province claimed the U-19 National Cricket Tournament with a 113-run drubbing of Sudur Paschim Province in the final at the TU Stadium on Sunday.

Skipper Dev Khanal continued his fine form ending the tournament with his fourth half century and crucial contributions from Bishal Bikram KC and Durgesh Gupta took Lumbini to 212 all out in 50 overs.

On a flat batting surface, Sudur Paschim batsmen failed to negotiate with the fiery opening spells from left arm medium pace Durgesh and Mohammad Hussain before five wickets from left arm spinner Ajay Chauhan bundled them out for just 99 runs in 28.2 overs.

The was virtually over for Sudur Paschim who reduced to 47-5 in 14.1 overs with their ace batsman Arjun Saud falling to Durgesh who finished with the figures of 19-3 from his continuous nine-over spell. Hussain took 2-33 finishing the tournament as the best bowler with 21 wickets to his name.

After early fireworks from Durgesh and Hussain, left arm spinner Ajay did the rest picking up 5-20 from 5.3 overs. Lokesh Bam top scored for Sudur Paschim with a 39-ball 25 hitting four boundaries, while their captain (21) Khadka Bohora was the next best scorer.

Under morning conditions, Sudur Paschim did well when Hemanta Dhami sent opener Aakash Tripathi for a second ball duck. But Dev kept digging in and combined with Prajjwal Thapa (24) for a 79-run second wicket stand. He also shared 41 runs for the fourth wicket with Bishal before a highly ambitious shot prevent him from converting into a big score.

He had already hit Aakash Chand for two consecutive sixes in the 29th before going for another big shot in the same over only to sky the ball to Khadak. The best batsman of the tournament finished the tournament with 334 runs after scoring a 95-ball 70 that included five hits to the fence four maximums.  

Bishal chipped in a 69-ball 51 with four boundaries and two sixes. Durgesh pushed the team beyond 200 making a 33-ball 32 with three boundaries and a six.

Aakash took 3-47 from 10 overs for Sudur Paschim, while Hemant and Sher Malla had two scalps apiece. Hussain was was also adjudged the player-of-the-tournament, while Ajay was named the man-of-the-final.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!