Connect with us


Citizens crowned champions

Citizens Bank won the 15th Soaltee Crowne Plaza Super Sixes title defeating Embassy of India by 17 runs at the TU Stadium on Tuesday.


Following the disqualification of Pappu Construction and boycotting of NMB Bank, Embassy of India went straight into the semi-finals but couldn’t make the most of the favourable circumstances succumbing to a power packed performance from Bishal Bhattarai.


Bishal – returning after being retired out – made a quick fire 48 off 17 as Citizens piled a challenging 77-4 in five overs. BR Launde, Sohan Patwal and Pankaj Singh took one wicket each for Embassy of India who only managed 60-4 in their reply.


Vipin Tomar hit four boundaries on his way to make 29 off 15 for Embassy of India, while Pankaj made an eight-ball 21 with two sixes and a four. Amit Khanal, Nabin Karki and Binay Gautam took one wicket each for the winners.


Earlier, Bishal smashed four sixes and four boundaries becoming the only Citizens Bank player to score in double figures. Bishal later walked away with man-of-the-series and most sixes award. His 32 not out off 15 was also crucial in Citizens’ five-wicket victory over Standarad Chartered Bank in the semi-finals.


Rabindra Chand of NMB Bank was adjudged the best batsman, while Sumit Rauniyar of Pappu was named the best bowler and Abhaya Rana of Century Bank took the best fielder’s honour. Nagarik Media won the Fair Play Award.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in National

error: Content is protected !!