Connect with us


Chitwan’s ninth wicket defiance stuns Lalitpur, Makawanpur crush Nuwakot

Pratik Shrestha and Gautam KC staged a sensational comeback for Chitwan to stun Lalitpur by one wicket in the Bagmati Province Selection Tournament for the Prime Minister Cup One Day National at the TU grounds on Friday.

A day after Aadil Khan’s double ton shaped a huge 291-run win over Tribhuvan University, Lalitpur were left puzzled after Pratik and Gautam pulled Chitwan from the jaws of defeat despite getting reduced to 109-8 in chase of Lalitpur’s 196-6 from 40 overs. Chitwan replied with 197-9 in 37.4 overs.

Opener Aakash Thapa made a gritty 41-ball 40 from the top order but three wickets each from Sumit Jha and Bipin Acharya reduced Chitwan to 109-8. But Gautam and Pratik added 76 runs for the ninth wicket with the former dealing a decisive blow.

Gautam hammered six sixes and three boundaries in a 26-ball 55 and when he was out, Chitwan were just 12 runs away from victory.

Man-of-the-match Pratik held his nerve to negotiate with the remaining score. He made a composed 57 off 85 with two sixes and as many boundaries.

Earlier, Lalitpur needed a 96-run fifth wicket stand from Bibek Rana Magar and Bipin after their Thursday’s three top scorers fell without troubling much. While Ashutosh Ghiraiya (one) fell cheaply, Aadil (21) and Durgesh Thapa (22) added 38 runs for the second wicket.

Bibek scored a 68-ball 45 with four boundaries and a six, while Bipin made 35 off 37 with three fours and one hit over the fence. Dipesh Shrestha took 3-40 from eight overs for Chitwan.

At Mulpani Cricket Ground, a collective batting effort including half centuries from Bishal Phuyal and Gaurab Khadka gave Makawanpur a crushing 213-run victory over Nuwakot. Makawanput made 268-7 from 40 overs before bundling out Nuwakot for just 55 runs in 21.5 overs.

Chitwan Team for Bagmati Province Selection Tournament.

Suwarna Bhatta and Piyush Sharma took three wickets each for Makawanpur, while Rijal Dhakal and Ramnaresh Giri also had two scalps apiece. Only Rajesh Rimal (15) and Pramod Regmi (11) made runs in double figures for Nuwakot.

Earlier, Bishal and Gaurab combined for a 87-run partnership for the second wicket after the former was also involved in a 53-run first wicket stand with Shubh Kansakar (25).

Gaurab made 60 off 74 with five boundaries and Bishal contributed 53 off 73 with a six and a four to the total. After the two set batsmen’s departure, man-of-the-match Ramnaresh rebuilt the innings with a crucial 81-run partnership for the fourth wicket with Takshak Simkhada (19).

Ramnaresh made 44 off 32 with five boundaries. Aviraj Yadav, Sakar Rawat and Anup Shrestha took two wickets each for Nuwakot.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!